What is the Commonwealth?

What is the Commonwealth?

Note: Belize and Antigua / Barbuda achieved independence in 1981, bringing the membership of the Commonwealth to forty-six. In each case Queen Elizabeth remained as head of state.

(From JUDD, D. and SLINN, P. The Evolution of the Modern Commonwealth. 1902-80. (McMillan) London, 1982, pp. 144-145.)


1. R. SCRUTON, A Dictionary of Political Thought. (London: Pan & McMillan, 1982), p. 79.
2. G. ARNOLD, Towards Peace and a Multiracial Commonwealth. (London: Chapman & Hall, 1964), p. 80
3. ibid., p. 82.
W. R. JOHNSTON, Op. Cit., p. 178.

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!